Outstanding teaching: What I really think

Bromley Education | be inspired

Follow me on Twitter: @mj_bromley

I was recently invited to speak at the joint annual conference of the Association of PRUs and Alternative Provision (PRUsAP) and the National Association of Home and Hospital Teaching (NAHHT).

It was early July and the hottest day of the year so far. The venue was idyllic: a large country house set in sixty acres of rolling fields in Hertfordshire. It was a Friday, the weekend but hours away, and I started my day watching butterflies flutter by, dancing in yellow sunlight.

But, in spite of my surroundings, I sensed a little foreboding as I stood up to speak…

The problem was the subject of my speech: ‘Outstanding Teaching and Learning’.

I always feel somewhat fraudulent when asked to talk about outstanding teaching. There are several reasons for this:

1. I’ve no idea what ‘outstanding’ teaching might look like in a PRU or hospital setting…

View original post 2,410 more words

Leave a Reply

