This much I know about how Katie’s story suggests that target setting might be a rubbish thing to do…

johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 26 years, a Headteacher for 11 years and, at the age of 50, this much I know about how Katie’s story suggests that target setting might be a rubbish thing to do…

Plagiarism is flattering. I hear a rumour that Barry Hymer, Carol Dweck’s acolyte in the UK, uses a number of our school’s Growth Mindset slides in his presentations. He certainly used this page in his Pocketbook on Growth Mindset:

Dweck Hymer quote

We’re weaving Growth Mindset into every aspect of our school life. At our annual Prize Giving I present the Headteacher’s Growth Mindset Trophy. This year I awarded the trophy to Katie. When I decided that Katie should receive the trophy, I sent colleagues an email announcing my choice. I summarised the responses in a number of slides which I showed at the Awards Evening. The last one makes me smile…

K1

K2

K3

K5

K6

I have severe…

View original post 144 more words

Leave a Reply

