Maths Mindsets: My Y10s

teacherhead

Maths Mindsets. Image from indiedb.com Maths Mindsets. Image from indiedb.com

Three weeks into teaching my Year 10 GCSE class, I’ve come to the conclusion that a large part of my task is going to be psychological.  In a class of 28, there are so many different responses to the process of learning maths as well as to the maths itself.  Some of these are probably common to all forms of teaching but others seem more specific to learning maths.  The last time I wrote about maths it was based on observing lessons  – ( Meaning and Magic amid the Muddle of Mental Mathematical Models ). There are so many mental models to wrestle with.  All very interesting as an observer but now I’m teaching maths myself  it’s a constant challenge – and a fascination.

For context, this is Set 2 out of four; all expected to get Grade 4/5 as a minimum; all aiming for more. We’re…

View original post 1,184 more words

Leave a Reply

